Implementing Deming-based Habits


More than 20 years ago, I attended a Deming Seminar at a local GM plant, because I worked for GM at that point. The Great Man was at our headquarters in Flint, MI, but it felt like we were interacting with him because of the simulcast. There were even people at our location to send him questions.

Fast forward to four months ago. I came back from a meeting with my mentor at the Small Business Development Center in Geneseo and got to work on a real prototype of a tool I had been trying to build for more than ten years. The thing that ended up being different this time was that I had more time, and was willing to do things the right way.

I call this tool DemingHabits because it operates on Deming principles:

  • I plan what I do
  • I do what I planned
  • I check what I planned
  • I act based on the results of what I checked
It sounds simple enough, right? But it isn’t. Or rather, it wasn’t easy for me. So I built a tool to help me.
One of my habits is to update my blog daily. I think I now have something to talk about, so here we go. I don’t need to spend hours on this habit, I just need to get on with it and post something.
Today is Day 1. Let’s see how many days I can string together.
Tags:

Leave a Reply

