Being Wrong


Kathryn Schulz gave a superb talk at TED back in March, 2011. I just watched the video and will be buying her book later today. If you go watch the video now, what I’m going to say next will make more sense.

Okay, I’m going to assume you just had your perspective adjusted by her talk. Consider this idea I had a few months back.

  • I am a failurist. I learn new things about myself and the world around me by welcoming the opportunity to fail. I am no longer striving to be perfect, but I am striving to change.
  • I think other people would be much happier and maybe more productive if they embraced the possibility of failure as a cost for success. Doing the same old things and getting the same old results isn’t going to help you in the future. You need to try and perhaps fail using ideas that others have tried and gotten to work. They didn’t get them to work right away; they failed a few times. Get on with it.
  • To help all of us get better at being failurists, I’m going to start a new category on this blog, calling it the Failurist Manifesto. This post will be the anchor that attracts people into that domain, where I intend to (and perhaps fail at) sharing my experiences as a failurist.

That’s all I have to say today. I need to go out and help my wife organize our compost pile. I suggest you do something similar, and go play with the rich organic material that was once your leftovers or lawn.

Leave a Reply

