Travel By Car


We are on the road again, this time together, and I love the flexibility of being in a car. I brought more stuff so I can do more things, but also have the option of not doing more of them. Last week, when I was living out of a suitcase and a backpack, I could only work on things I had with me, which meant there were fewer things I could ignore.

Does this sound strange?

Some interesting facts about travel by car:

  • When you go slower, your gas mileage goes up (to 54.8 at one point, in our new Prius)
  • When you want to stop and visit a Border’s bookstore along the way, you don’t have to worry about missing your flight
  • When you get tired, you can watch for motel signs on the Interstate and stop at an exit with choices

But just like an airplane trip, you have to prepare the same way as you do when you travel by plane. My checklist for this trip was just as detailed as my trip two weeks ago. I had more options for technology and business things I could bring, and also had the option of bringing my snorkel gear in case I want to go for a swim in the ocean. And I brought more books, and my laptop, as well as my iPad and all my other iOS devices.

Is this post a throwaway? Why yes, I think it is. But i don’t particularly care, because I’m going to be able to go to sleep at 1130pm for the first time since I got home early Sunday morning.

See you all tomorrow. I hope I come up with something more interesting to say. This is my 27th day in a row, going back to June 11th. I’m on a roll, even if I sometimes have nothing to say.
But that’s okay. I saw a very nice TED podcast this morning that had some very good ideas in it. I think I could write about it tomorrow, so you all know more about that particular topic. All I have to do is fire up the laptop and figure out which one it was.

Leave a Reply

