That Didn’t Work Out


Well, here I am, four weeks into my vacation from using my “habituation” tool. This past weekend was enjoyable but I fell off the wagon in terms of my diet. Three days of junk food sent my weight up two pounds since my return, but today is a new day, and a new week, and almost a new month. So I can reset all the metrics in my tool and get back to work on several fronts: my personal life, my life with my wife, and my business plans.

I finished The Starfish and the Spider last evening. It gave me some new ideas for how I want to design my business. My role will change a little, combining what they describe as catalyst and champion, but I really need someone else to do the latter. Anyway, it’s almost August. Don’t other people take vacations in August, as one last fling before their kids go back to school?

I miss my routines. I felt like I was making progress. The daily reminders to do the right things the right way were refreshing. The discipline felt good, but it didn’t survive disconnection from the habit support system. Some of the real habits lasted, like taking my medicine, but nearly everything else reverted to “habits in development.” All the momentum is gone, or was it inertia. I just don’t remember. But checking my dictionary app, I have a new insight into both.

  • Inertia is the property of matter by which it retains its state of rest of its velocity along a straight line, so long as it is not acted upon by an external force
  • Momentum is force or speed of movement

My habits are a result of inertia, and taking a vacation didn’t sustain them. I need to get them back up to speed, and establish a different vector, because the straight line I was headed on won’t get to the future I want for myself. If I want to be a reasonable example of what my ideas can do for others, I need to demonstrate what they can do for me. I am now my own test subject, on many levels. And there are so many new things to add into the mix.

But writing a disconnected blog post just to keep the string going isn’t going to get the day planned, or the plan executed. Enough blathering. Let’s get to work. There are lots of people to visit, and at least one appointment to keep, and I am back home. I can use my tool on my laptop all day long, without having to figure out how to take it with me when I leave the house. I can get back into that rhythm I had before this break, that rhythm I didn’t recognize because I snuck up on it over a period of months. I can’t wait.

Hope you all manage to survive any vacations you might have planned. Mine turned out to be a great wake up and source of ideas. But now I have to put them to work. Expect regular reports on my progress, but maybe not as much introspection. There is work to do, and reflecting on the past doesn’t advance the future, or change the vector I am on. I want to be more positive, but it’s difficult when I have so many negative things to bemoan.

Let’s get on with it. You do the same. Let’s reset all the counters and try this again.

One Response to “That Didn’t Work Out”

  1. Kay and Larry Thomas Says:

    “Stay in your lane,” John. I have just finished writing a column about looking forward, accepting those pesky detours and keeping to your game plan. It’s a life-long process, and I am not sure that we will ever get it totally right.

Leave a Reply

